Who is the Divisional Secretariat?

Who is the Divisional Secretariat?

The districts of Sri Lanka are divided into administrative sub-units known as divisional secretariats. These were originally based on the feudal counties, the korales and ratas. They were formerly known as ‘D.R.O.

What is meant by Divisional Secretariat?

The Divisional Secretariats (DS) are the grass root level administrative units which deliver more than 90 percent of the government services to the citizen. Apart from extending services to public, the DSs are responsible in directing and coordinating all the development activities taking place in the division.

How many Divisional Secretary divisions are there in Sri Lanka?

A district is divided into a number of Divisional Secretary’s Divisions (commonly known as DS divisions), which are in turn subdivided in to14,022 Grama Niladhari Divisions. There are 231 DS divisions in the country.

How many divisional secretariats are there in Colombo District?

Divisions’. There are 40 divisional secretariats divided in Western Province, which are listed below, by district. There are 13 in Colombo District, 13 in Gampaha District and 14 in Kalutara District.

Which district is payagala?

Kalutara District
Payagala South, Western Province, Sri Lanka

Alternative Names: Paiyagala South, Payagala South
Mindat.org Region: Kalutara District, Western Province, Sri Lanka
Region: Western Province, Sri Lanka
Latitude: 6° 31′ 21″ N
Longitude: 79° 58′ 46″ E

How many Divisional Secretariat are there in Jaffna?

There are 32 divisional secretariats divided in Northern Province, which are listed below, by district. There are 14 in Jaffna District, 4 in Kilinochchi District, 5 in Mannar District, 5 in Mullaitivu District and 4 in Vavuniya District.

How many divisional secretariats are there in Galle District?

Divisions’. There are 47 divisional secretariats divided in Southern Province, which are listed below, by district. There are 19 in Galle District, 12 in Hambantota District and 16 in Matara District.

Which district is wadduwa?

Wadduwa in Kalutara District is a district of the Western Province of Sri Lanka.

What is the district of Matugama?

Mathugama (Sinhala: මතුගම, Tamil: மத்துகம) is a semi urban town surrounded by mountains. It is an electorate of the Kalutara district, in Western Province, Sri HistoryLanka. The town is located 64 km (40 mi) to the south of Colombo.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top