What is the culture of Region 10 Northern Mindanao?

What is the culture of Region 10 Northern Mindanao?

Northern Mindanao is a region rich in culture, which can be seen in their numerous festivals. One of the most popular festivals in the region is the Higalaay Festival in Cagayan de Oro City. They celebrate the feast day of St. Augustine every 28th day of August.

What are the cultures in Region 10?

It has the living heritage of the Manobo, the Higaonon, the Talaandig, the Matigsalug, the Tigwahanon, the Bukidnon, and the Umayamnon.

What is the history of Northern Mindanao?

The humble beginnings of the Northern Mindanao Medical Center (NMMC) can be traced to a wood and nipa structure in Carmen, in what was then known as the District of Cagayan de Misamis, 100 years ago, during the American occupation of the Philippines .

Why is Region 10 called Northern Mindanao?

Lanao Del Norte was transferred to Northern Mindanao from Region 12 the virtue of Executive Order No. 36 in in September 2001. 6. ETYMOLOGY • The term Northern Mindanao was officially coined by the Americans after the establishment of American rule in the Philippines due to the of Filipino revolutionaries.

What is the culture of Higaonon?

The culture of Higanaon tribe can best be described as a culture of Peace, for solving their internal conflicts or settle feuds among other ethnic groups, the tribes practises an ancient ritual: the tampudas hu Balagun, or the treaty of the green vine branch, a symbolic ans traditonal cutting of the vine.

What are the festival of Region 10?

The Higalaay Festival (formerly known as Kagay-an Festival) Cagayan de Oro City is a festival held each year in Cagayan de Oro, Philippines, every 28th day of August, celebrating the feast day of St. Augustine – patron saint of the city.

What are the provinces of Region 10 Northern Mindanao?

Northern Mindanao has five provinces, namely, Misamis Oriental, Misamis Occidental, Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte and Camiguin. It comprises two (2) highly-urbanized cities, seven (7) constituent cities, 84 municipalities and 2,022 barangays.

What are the province in Region 10?

The region is composed of five provinces: Bukidnon, the island province of Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Misamis Oriental.

What region does Northern Mindanao belong?

Region X
Northern Mindanao , officially designated as Region X, is an administrative region in the Philippines occupying the northern-central section of Mindanao. It covers 5 provinces, namely, Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, and Misamis Oriental, as well as 2 highly urbanized cities.

What region belongs the Northern Mindanao?

What is the history of Higaonon?

The name Higaonon is derived from the words higa meaning living, the word goan, which means mountains and the word onon meaning people. Together these words form the description of the tribe as “people of the living mountains.”

What are the beliefs of Higaonon tribe?

The Higaonons believed in supernatural beings that dwelt in mountains, forests, trees, or simply existed in some portion of the universe. They also believed in the existence of beneficent spirits like those of their dead datus as well as in malevolent ones, and in the creator of all things—the God Magbabaya.

What is region 10 in the Philippines?

NORTHERN MINDANAO is an administrative region of the Philippines and is designated as Region 10. • It comprises of 5 provinces namely Camiguin, Bukidnon, Lanao Del Norte, Misamis Ociidental and Misamis Oriental.

What are the provinces of Northern Mindanao?

Designated as Region X of the Philippines, Northern Mindanao occupies the north-central part of Mindanao Island, and the island-province of Camiguin. It is composed of five provinces, namely: Bukidnon, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Lanao del Norte and the island of Camiguin.

What is the regional center of Mindanao?

*Cagayan de Oro City serves as the regional center. Region 10, usually called Northern Mindanao, is composed of 5 provinces: Misamis Oriental, Misamis Occidental, Bukidnon, Camiguin and Lanao del Norte.

What is Region X of Northern Mindanao?

Northern Mindanao is the 8th most populous region in the Philippines and 2nd in Mindanao (after Davao Region) according to the 2015 National Statistics Office Census. The major urban area of Region X is Metro Cagayan de Oro which includes Cagayan de Oro and some municipalities and cities of Misamis Oriental and Bukidnon.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top