What are the general classification of drugs?

What are the general classification of drugs?

DREs classify drugs in one of seven categories: central nervous system (CNS) depressants, CNS stimulants, hallucinogens, dissociative anesthetics, narcotic analgesics, inhalants, and cannabis.

What are the 4 types of drug classifications?

The main categories are:

  • stimulants (e.g. cocaine)
  • depressants (e.g. alcohol)
  • opium-related painkillers (e.g. heroin)
  • hallucinogens (e.g. LSD)

What are the 7 classification of drugs?

The Seven Primary Types Of Drugs

  • Drug Type No. 1 — Opioids/Opiates.
  • Drug Type No. 2 — Stimulants.
  • Drug Type No. 3 — Depressants.
  • Drug Type No. 4 — Dissociatives.
  • Drug Type No. 5 — Hallucinogens.
  • Drug Type No. 6 — Anabolic Steroids.
  • Drug Type No. 7 — Inhalants.
  • Help Is Available for Your Drug Addiction.

What are the 6 classification of drugs?

The 6 Classifications of Drugs. When considering only their chemical makeup, there are six main classifications of drugs: alcohol, opioids, benzodiazepines, cannabinoids, barbiturates, and hallucinogens.

What are the 8 classification of drugs?

The drug categories are:

  • Stimulants.
  • Inhalants.
  • Cannabinoids.
  • Depressants.
  • Opioids.
  • Steroids.
  • Hallucinogens.
  • Prescription drugs.

What are the 3 major categories of drugs?

Drug categories

  • depressants – slow down the function of the central nervous system.
  • hallucinogens – affect your senses and change the way you see, hear, taste, smell or feel things.
  • stimulants – speed up the function of the central nervous system.

What are the 8 categories of drugs?

What are drugs Class 12?

By definition, drugs are chemical substances that affect or alter the physiology when taken into a living system. They can either be natural or synthetic. Chemically, they are low atomic mass and molecular mass structures.

What are the 3 groups of drugs?

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top