What are the 29 states and capital of India?

What are the 29 states and capital of India?

List of 29 States and Capital (States and Capital of India)….29 States of India and Their Capitals and Languages.

Name of the State Capital City Official Languages
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar English
Assam Dispur Assamese
Bihar Patna Hindi
Chhattisgarh Raipur Chhattisgarhi

How many states and districts are there in India?

As of 2022, there are a total of 755 districts, up from the 640 in the 2011 Census of India and the 593 recorded in the 2001 Census of India….List of districts in India.

Location States and union territories of India
Number 755 (as of 04 April 2022)

What are the 28 states of India and their capitals?

List of 28 States and Capitals of India | Indian States and Capitals

No. States of India Capital
1 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 Assam Dispur
4 Bihar Patna

How many districts are in India?

The latest decadal Census exercise, done in 2011, carves out India into 640 districts. But the country’s central bank, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), counts 644 districts. The state-level Planning Commission bodies, which perform the crucial task of collecting development indictors, stop at 556 districts.

What are the 29 states and 7 union territories?

There are 29 states and seven Union territories in the country. Let’s take a look at the states and their capitals.

  • Andhra Pradesh – Amravati. Amravati city plan. (
  • Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar.
  • Assam – Dispur.
  • Bihar – Patna.
  • Chhattisgarh – Atal Nagar (Naya Raipur)
  • Goa – Panaji.
  • Gujarat – Gandhinagar.
  • Haryana – Chandigarh.

Is India have 28 or 29 states?

There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/ UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

Which is the poor city in India?

Alirajpur district in Madhya Pradesh is the poorest in the country where 76.5 per cent of people are poor.

Which is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 from ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

Which district is largest in India?

Area of India : 3,287,240 Sq km.*

Largest State Rajasthan 342,239 Sq km
Largest Union Territory Andaman & Nicobar Islands 8,249 Sq km
Smallest Union Territory Lakshadweep 32 Sq km
Largest District Kachchh (Gujarat) 45,652 Sq km
Smallest District Mahe ( Pondicherry ) 9 Sq km

Which is the first district in India?

Salem district
Salem district was the first district to be formed in India on 4 April 1792 that spread over 7,530 sq km comprising the present-day Namakkal, Dharmapuri, Krishnagiri. Alexander Reed was the collector of the Salem district from 1792 to 1799.

Which is the capital of Goa?

PanajiGoa / Capital (Executive Branch)

Which are the 28 states and capitals of India?

28 STATES AND CAPITALS OF INDIA : 1 1) Andhra Pradesh – Hyderabad (Currently Proposed – Amaravati) 2 2) Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar. 3 3) Assam – Dispur. 4 4) Bihar – Patna. 5 5) Chhattisgarh – Raipur.

What are the capital cities of Indian union territories?

Indian States: Union Territories and Capitals Union Territories Names Capital Founded on Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1 Nov. 1956 Chandigarh Chandigarh 1 Nov. 1966 Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu Daman 26 Jan. 2020 Delhi New Delhi 9 May. 1905

How is the capital of India marked on the map?

The names of the states of India are written in capital letters, and the capitals of states are marked with a black dot. State and international boundaries are also marked on the map. The table below the map lists the capital of India and the capitals of the states and the union territories.

Which are the architecturally rich states and capitals of India?

World famous Ajanta and Ellora caves are situated in the state, Kailasa Temple is one of the uncomparable structure in the world at Ellora and thus these states and capitals of India are Architecturally very much rich in world. Manipur is a state of Northern east part of India. Manipur and Imphal are the India state and capital respectively.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top