Where is the Riverina area in NSW?

Where is the Riverina area in NSW?

The Riverina is an agricultural region of south-western New South Wales (NSW), which extends from the foothills of the Snowy Mountains north west through the Murrumbidgee River catchment area to the flat dry inland plains of Hay and Carrathool.

What suburbs are in the Riverina?

The major Riverina towns are Albury, Wagga Wagga, Leeton, Griffith, Junee, Narrandera, Deniliquin, Hay, and Condobolin.

How many towns are in Riverina?

two cities
The Riverina includes two cities; Wagga Wagga and Griffith. Other large towns include Leeton, Finley, Deniliquin, Cootamundra, West Wyalong, Narrandera, Junee and Temora.

Is Yass in the Riverina?

The Yass River, a perennial river that is part of the Murrumbidgee catchment within the Murray–Darling basin, is located in the Southern Tablelands and South Western Slopes districts of New South Wales, Australia….Yass River.

Yass Cohen Creek
City Yass
Physical characteristics
Source Great Dividing Range
• location near Wamboin

What are the regional areas in NSW?

NSW regions

  • Central West and Orana. Includes Bathurst, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo, Gilgandra, Lithgow, Mudgee and Orange.
  • Far West.
  • New England North West.
  • Newcastle and Hunter.
  • North Coast.
  • Riverina Murray.
  • South East and Tablelands.
  • Sydney and surrounds.

Where is Riverina and Murray?

Region overview The Riverina Murray is situated along the Victorian and Australian Capital Territory borders. It is one of Australia’s main food producing regions and the temperate climate and rich natural resources underpin the diverse regional economy.

How many regions are there in NSW?

Department of Planning. The Department of Planning, Industry and Environment divides New South Wales into ten regions: Greater Sydney, Central Coast, Hunter, Illawarra Shoalhaven, North Coast, New England North West, Central West and Orana, South East and Tablelands, Riverina-Murray and Far West.

What is the largest inland city in NSW?

Wagga Wagga
Wagga Wagga, located on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River, is the largest inland city in New South Wales and is considered the main commercial and administrative centre in the Riverina region.

Is Lake Cargelligo part of the Riverina?

Lake Cargelligo, town, central New South Wales, Australia. It is situated on Lake Cargelligo, near the Lachlan River, in the fertile Riverina district.

Is Shoalhaven regional NSW?

The Illawarra-Shoalhaven is the third-largest regional economy in NSW, with a mix of traditional and emerging industries.

Is Richmond NSW a regional area?

Below is the list of regional areas that are close to Sydney….BEST REGIONAL AREAS NEAR SYDNEY.

Name Banora Point
Urban Area Tweed Heads
Type Suburb
Local Government Tweed (Area)
Region Richmond – Tweed

Is Griffith NSW in the Riverina?

Griffith /ˈɡrɪfəθ/ is a major regional city in the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area that is located in the north-western part of the Riverina region of New South Wales, known commonly as the food bowl of Australia.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top