What is the new law for cell phones in Indiana?

What is the new law for cell phones in Indiana?

A law banning cellphone use took effect in July 2020 to combat distracted driving. That law allowed tickets of up to $500 against violators but delayed by a year any state Bureau of Motor Vehicles points toward a driver’s license suspension.

Is it illegal to drive in the left lane in Indiana?

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE) — Indiana State Police wants to remind drivers that if they’re going too slow in the left lane, they need to move over. Under the Left Lane Law, a vehicle traveling below the speed limit in the far left lane of a highway with two or more lanes must move over. The law was passed six years ago.

What is the new driving law in Indiana?

INDIANAPOLIS — A new law that requires Indiana motorists to use hands-free or voice-operated tech when using a cellphone while driving begins July 1. According to Indiana State Police, Making a phone call while driving may increase your odds of being in a crash by as much as 400%.

Is it illegal to eat and drive in Indiana?

There’s no law that says you can’t eat while driving in this state. But eating a cheeseburger could cause you to drive erratically or to lose focus and commit a moving violation like running a stop sign, and you could be pulled over for that.

Is it illegal to pull through a parking spot in Indiana?

You cannot have both.

Can I wear headphones while driving Indiana?

Indiana hands-free driving laws allow for the use of “a speakerphone, Bluetooth technology, earpiece, headphone, or other device that allows for hands-free communication.” However, even though it is legal to wear headphones while driving in Indiana doesn’t mean that you should sport your Beats by Dre every time you get …

Is it illegal to pass on the right in Indiana?

(b) A person who drives a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle upon the right only under conditions that permit overtaking upon the right in safety. Overtaking upon the right may not be made by driving off the roadway.

Is it illegal to drive in the fast lane Indiana?

Motorists obeying the speed limit in the left lanes of highways soon will be required to move over to allow faster vehicles to pass them or risk a $500 fine under a new Indiana law. The law signed by Gov.

Can you drive at 15 in Indiana?

Learner’s permits allow Indiana residents to practice driving before obtaining a driver’s license. You may obtain a learner’s permit if you are at least 15 years old and enrolled in an approved behind-the-wheel training course.

When did Indiana become a hands-free state?

July 1, 2020
July 1, 2020 marked a new day for Hoosiers. The state enacted the hands-free law. Indiana law prohibits drivers from holding mobile devices, such as smartphones and tablets, in their hands while driving to reduce distracted driving and improve safety on Hoosier roadways.

Is it illegal to sleep in your car?

The short answer is no, you’re usually not breaking the law if you sleep in your car. When it comes to taking a break, and even having a nap, the Highway Code is clear on this.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top