Is Fermanagh mostly Catholic or Protestant?

Is Fermanagh mostly Catholic or Protestant?

Fermanagh is one of four counties of Northern Ireland to have a majority of its population from a Catholic background, according to the 2011 census.

How many towns are in Fermanagh?

There are 2305 townlands that we know about in Co. Fermanagh. This represents 100% of all the area in Co. Fermanagh.

What is the county town of Fermanagh?

Enniskillen is the County Town of Fermanagh, located almost exactly in the Centre of the County on the natural island which separates the Upper and Lower sections of Lough Erne. The town is home to a population of approximately 11,500, by far the largest settlement in the County.

What is County Fermanagh famous for?

County Fermanagh is one of the nine counties in the province of Ulster and is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland. Fermanagh is famous for its lakes, particularly Lough Erne, and waterways. The Maguire clan was the dominant Celtic tribe in Fermanagh.

What is the most Protestant town in Northern Ireland?

Ballymena is the buckle in Northern Ireland’s Bible belt, the seat of the Paisley family and a place that has been likened to 1960s Mississippi. It is rural, conservative, mainly born-again Christian and predominantly Protestant.

What is the most Catholic town in Northern Ireland?

Looking at the percentage of the population with a Catholic community background, it’s clear that some districts, such as Newry and Mourne (79.4 per cent), Derry (74.8 per cent) and Omagh (70.3 per cent), are predominantly Catholic, whereas districts such as Carrickfergus (9.6 per cent), Ards (12.7 per cent) and North …

What counties border Fermanagh?

Covering some 1,850 km2, Fermanagh has land boundaries with counties Tyrone, Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan and Leitrim. The 2011 population was approximately 68,000.

What is the population of Fermanagh 2021?

According to the Registrar General’s Annual Report, which was published last week and covers the period up until December 2020, the current population of the Fermanagh and Omagh District is 117,337.

What is Fermanagh nickname?

Fermanagh (GAA) The Erne County; the Ernesiders. River Erne and Lough Erne. Galway (GAA) The Tribesmen.

How many counties border Fermanagh?

Covering some 1,850 km2, Fermanagh has land boundaries with counties Tyrone, Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan and Leitrim.

Where do Mcguire’s come from in Ireland?

Maguire (/məˈɡwaɪər/ mə-GWIRE, also spelled Mac Guire or McGuire) is an Irish surname from the Irish language Mag Uidhir, which is “son of Odhar” or “son of the dun or dark coloured one”….Maguire.

Maguire Mag Uidhir
Parent house Clan Conla
Country Kingdom of Fermanagh
Founded 10th century
Founder Odhar mac Cearnaigh

What is the most Protestant county in Northern Ireland?

Today, only counties Antrim and Down have a majority Protestant population (71% and 67% respectively) although it is worth noting that these counties also house 2/3 of Northern Ireland’s population.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top