How do I get my drivers license in Alabama?
How to Apply for Your Learner License (Permit) for the First Time
- 1Apply in person. You must apply in person at your local Driver License Office.
- 2Bring the following documentation.
- 3Pass a vision test.
- 4Pay the testing fee and take the knowledge test.
- 5Pay the license fee.
- 6Get your license.
Can I get my Alabama drivers license online?
Smart phone users can download a digital license to show as a secure form of identification. The license, only available through an online renewal, can be downloaded using Apple Passbook or Google Wallet. ALEA Spokeswoman Anna Morris said the digital license will be a valid form of ID if pulled over by police.
What do I need to bring to the DMV to get my license in Alabama?
- U.S. birth certificate (certified and issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics – NO PHOTOCOPIES)
- Social Security card *
- Acceptable proof of school enrollment or graduation **
- 2 Proofs of Principal Residence ***
- $5 testing fee (no checks)
- $36.25 to purchase license (no checks)
How long do you have to wait to get your license in Alabama?
Alabama Drivers License Test You’ll need to have your learners permit for a minimum of 6 months and complete the above training requirements before you can test for your Alabama drivers license. Once you’re ready, you can make an appointment at your local DPS testing office for your driving test.
How much does it cost to get a driver’s license in Alabama?
Driver or Learner License (age 16 and older) $5 test fee (no checks). Applicants 18 or older who wish to complete all testing for a license must have a licensed driver, proof of car insurance and a vehicle that will pass inspection. $36.25 to purchase license (no checks).
How many questions are on the Alabama permit test?
The Alabama DMV permit test will have 30 questions, and you’ll need to answer 24 of them to reach the 80% passing score.
What counts as proof of residency in Alabama?
Valid Alabama Driver License or Identification Card displaying applicant’s current address. Voter Registration Card. Residential Mortgage Contract. Current Lease or Rental agreement for housing.
How long do I have to wait to get my full license?
You may apply for a Full Licence after you have had your Restricted Licence for 18 months if you’re under 25 years of age, or in 6 months if you’re 25 and over.
How much does it cost to get an Alabama driver’s license?
Do you have to take a written test to get your license in Alabama?
You MUST have a driving instructor or licensed adult over 21 in the seat beside you when you drive, among other restrictions we’ll list further below. The Written Test consists of 30 questions, of which you need at least 24 to pass. It’ll test you on traffic laws, road signs, and Alabama traffic legislation.
How to make appointment for Alabama drivers license?
– A valid foreign passport along with a visa or resident alien card – Social Security Number (SSN) verification or a letter from the Social Security Administration that verifies non-eligibility for an SSN – A document authorizing U.S. presence for more than 160 days – Fee payment
How do you get drivers license in Alabama?
You’re a member of the military (or dependent) stationed in Alabama with a valid out-of-state license.
How to check a driver’s license status for Alabama?
Decide How You Want to Obtain the Report. Choose the process you want to use to check the status of your Alabama driver’s license.
How much does a Star ID cost in Alabama?
Visit the ALEA website for a complete list of documents accepted for a STAR ID card . A standard Alabama ID or STAR ID card is valid for 4 years and will cost you: $36.25 for a new card. $36.25 to renew. $36.25 for a replacement or duplicate. $5 in addition to the new ID card fee, for non-U.S. citizens.