Are there any cities in Northwest Territories?

Are there any cities in Northwest Territories?

The only city in the Northwest Territories is Yellowknife.

What are the major cities in Northwest Territories?

Northwest Territories

Rank Population centre Population (2016)
1 Yellowknife 19,141
2 Inuvik 3,140
3 Hay River 2,728
4 Fort Smith 2,031

Where is Fort Smith Alberta?

southern Northwest Territories
Fort Smith, town, southern Northwest Territories, Canada. It is situated on the Slave River, at the Alberta border, and lies below the rapids, midway between Lake Athabasca and Great Slave Lake.

What biome is Fort Smith Canada?

continental subarctic climate
Fort Smith has a dry continental subarctic climate (Koppen: Dfc) with very long winters combined with warm but relatively short summers.

Is the Yukon in the Northwest Territories?

Yukon, formerly Yukon Territory, territory of northwestern Canada, an area of rugged mountains and high plateaus. It is bounded by the Northwest Territories to the east, by British Columbia to the south, and by the U.S. state of Alaska to the west, and it extends northward above the Arctic Circle to the Beaufort Sea.

How many towns are in the NWT?

33 communities
Communities. The Northwest Territories has 33 communities that are designated authorities, hamlets, villages or cities located in 5 regions.

Is Yellowknife a city?

Situated on the Northern shore of Great Slave Lake, Yellowknife is the capital of the Northwest Territories, Canada. Founded in 1934, the city is located in the traditional territory of the Yellowknives Dene First Nation who founded the nearby community of Dettah in the early 1930s.

Is Fort Smith a city?

With a metropolitan area population of more than 225,000 people, Fort Smith is one of the largest cities in Arkansas.

What happened to Fort Smith?

The fort was abandoned seven years later in 1824, but by that time a town founded by John Rogers was formed alongside the fort. The fort was re-occupied and expanded in 1838. It was again abandoned in 1871. The area once occupied by the fort is now the Fort Smith National Historic Site.

Where was the Mormon Fort Smith?

Photo (2021) by Kenneth Mays. Several settlements were established in the 1850s between Salt Lake City and California along the Mormon Corridor, including the short-lived Mormon Fort in Las Vegas.

Who owns Northwest Territories?

The Northwest Territories (abbreviated NT or NWT; French: Territoires du Nord-Ouest) is a federal territory of Canada. At a land area of approximately 1,144,000 km2 (442,000 sq mi) and a 2016 census population of 41,790, it is the second-largest and the most populous of the three territories in Northern Canada.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top